I’ve spent a lot of time this weekend really trying to figure out the ‘mind-body’ connection. I know when I go into the gym feeling confident like I’m going to destroy a workout or exercise, 99.9% of the time I do just that. And I feel great afterwards. But, when I get under the bar for a squat (like today) and go in feeling nervous, I never get the same result. I either don’t go full depth, or even worse, I sike myself out completely.  It’s all mental. I KNEW I could easily have squatted 135 for 3 today, because I’ve done it so many times before. But for some reason there was just the ONE little voice inside my head saying, ‘I hope I can get this weight back up..’ and right then is when all that confidence vanished. I completely the squat set, but I wasn’t happy with my execution. BELIEVING in myself is what is going to get me results. Not being timid when it comes to lifting heavy and going for new PRs is what is going to get me to my goal.

This weekend I watched several motivational videos, listened to clips of famous speeches, and did some research on Arnold Schwarzenegger. Arnold’s outlook on training and the mind is incredible. He’s such a smart man and I agree 100% with his mentality.

One of my favorite quotes of his: “The mind is the limit. As long as the mind can envision the fact that you can do something, you can do it, as long as you really believe 100 percent.” This couldn’t be written any better. The mind really is the limit.. but in order to achieve what you’re striving for, you need to believe.

I need to start believing in this because come next week I have max sets and I know the ONLY way I am going to accomplish them is if I get my mind right.

